Open Accessibility Menu

Dr. Rahim Raoufi Named LVMC Physician of the Year for 2020

  • Category: LVMC Updates
  • Posted On:
  • Written By: Nora Wallace
Dr. Rahim Raoufi Named LVMC Physician of the Year for 2020

Gastroenterologist Dr. Rahim Raoufi has been named the 2020 LVMC Physician of the Year.

Employees cast votes for the physician whom they believe exemplifies the district’s values and maintains the trust of the community, patients, and residents. The votes are also directed toward a physician who strives continuously to improve services, and who works as a team member with hospital staff.

“I really appreciate it,” Dr. Raoufi said. “I have to say I really like working here. I have a great team. Without my team, I wouldn’t be successful.”

The comments offered by staff in nomination forms were extensive and effusive. They spoke of Dr. Raoufi’s caring and compassionate nature, his dedication to his job and patients, and his skill in his specialty. He was recognized for being a patient advocate and for his tireless work ethic.

“This doctor is fantastic with patients as well as staff,” noted one nomination. “He is always upbeat and positive with all he comes in contact with. He also never forgets a face.”

Another nomination said he was worthy because he “epitomizes the LVMC mission. He provides safe and high-quality services to our community … His main focus is the patient. He doesn’t hesitate to refer them to a specialist if needed. He deserves honor and recognition.”

LVMC Chief Executive Officer Steve Popkin called the award “very well deserved.” He read a handful of the almost 50 nomination comments, which were presented in a scroll to Dr. Raoufi.

Dr. Raoufi is a graduate of Shiraz University of Medical Sciences in Iran. After finishing his Family Practice residency at East Tennessee State University, he entered the Internal Medicine residency program at the University of California San Francisco, Fresno. He began his practice in Lompoc in 2012. He is married and the father of two children.

Previous Physicians of the Year include Dr. Cedric Kwon, 2019; Dr. Rollin Bailey, 2018; Dr. Tomas Machin, 2017; Dr. Cindy Blifeld, 2016, and Dr. Randall Michel, 2015.