Open Accessibility Menu

Dr. James Trettin named LVMC Physician of the Year 2023

  • Category: Press Release
  • Posted On:
  • Written By: Nora Wallace
Dr. James Trettin named LVMC Physician of the Year 2023

Emergency Department physician Dr. James Trettin was named Lompoc Valley Medical Center Physician of the Year for 2023 during a ceremony this month.  

Employees cast votes for the physician whom they believe exemplifies the hospital district’s values and maintains the trust of the community, patients and residents. The votes are also directed toward a physician who strives continuously to improve services, and who works as a team member with hospital staff. 

The award was presented by LVMC Chief Executive Officer Steve Popkin during the annual Medical Staff holiday gathering at the Mission Club restaurant. Dr. Trettin was not in attendance but was lauded in his absence. 

‘I am grateful for this award,” he said later when receiving his award plaque. 

Dr. Trettin has been a member of the LVMC medical staff since 2016. He is a 2000 Cabrillo High School graduate and earned his medical degree from American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine. 

As part of the ceremony, a scroll of comments from the LVMC employee nominations was unveiled.  

Many of the comments commented upon his intelligence, his bedside manner, professionalism and compassion. 

“He has mine and every ER nurse’s complete trust with our patients and listens to RN concerns about patients without hesitation,” one nomination noted. “My favorite MD to work with because I know my patients are always safe in his hands. If I ever have an emergency and have to come in, I’ll be hoping he is the doctor here to take care of me.” 

Another nomination said that Dr. Trettin makes a difference. 

“He treats both the patients and coworkers with respect. He deserves to be recognized for the care he has for this facility.”  

Another nomination was equally as effusive. 

“He is simply the best ER doctor I have worked with. How would I say it ‘supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.’ I guess that’s the right word to recognize his work ethics.” 

Previous Physicians of the Year include Dr. William Pierce, 2022; Dr. Khawar Gul, 2021; Dr. Rahim Raoufi, 2020; Dr. Cedric Kwon, 2019; Dr. Rollin Bailey, 2018; Dr. Tomas Machin, 2017; Dr. Cindy Blifeld, 2016 and Dr. Randall Michel, 2015.